top of page

Save Matthias Preview 2

Matthias and Marcus approached from the east, slowly getting closer to the small group of people. As they came through a small grove of trees, Matthias saw a girl. He almost felt struck down—she was beautiful. She had long dark hair and tan skin and looked to be around his age. He stared; he couldn’t say anything. Then she saw them and got up and ran.

Matthias said, “Hey, it’s okay; we aren’t here for problems.”

She ran over the hill, and about six men came over the hill, yelling out, “Halt! Get off your horses, and stay there.”

Marcus and Matthias did what the men asked. Matthias had an intense look on his face, and then he saw the girl and dozens of people coming over the hill, wanting a look at the new arrivals. Then a man came out of the crowd. He was slender, looked to be in his forties, and had short dark hair. He seemed to have a lot of respect among the people.

He came forward and said to the crowd, “My friends, please. This is not how we welcome people. Unless you come for problems?”

Matthias, still feeling defensive, said, “We don’t have problems with people unless they have problems with us. Tell them to step back. I don’t like the show of force.”

Matthias’s uncle said, “Easy, Matthias; calm yourself.”

His uncle walked forward, greeted the man with a handshake, and told him their names. Marcus said, “We come with faith and peace; you are a sight for doubting eyes. We never thought we would find more.”

The man replied, “Well, you have, brother. My name is Julius, and this is my land. I own it, and I have stocked it with provisions and created a stronghold in these mountains. I have accepted friends and others who are men and women of God or just people who have standards, and if you can live by that, then please be our friends.”

Matthias walked forward and shook Julius’s hand, and Julius looked at Matthias for a minute.

Matthias asked, “What’s wrong?”

Julius replied, “There is something about you—something I have never felt before. Interesting.”

Matthias just shook his head and gave a goofy look to his uncle, and they followed Julius and the others to the opening in the mountain. The people couldn’t stop asking questions: “Where are you from? Have you seen help or survivors? Do you have any news for us?”

Marcus stepped back and said, “I’m sorry. Our families and friends are dead; the upper East is gone. We saw a few men, but they tried to rob us.”

Julius asked, “How many of them?”

“Four,” replied Marcus.

Julius asked, “How did you guys stop them?”

“I didn’t. Matthias did,” replied Marcus.

Matthias was off unpacking the horses. He then pulled out his blades and began practicing with them as others watched. Matthias did not know that he had quickly caught the attention of the people.

“He killed four men alone?” asked Julius.

“Yes. He is special,” replied Marcus.

Marcus stared at Matthias and then looked back to Julius and said, “When times get worse, it will be Matthias who shines. He saved my life. He needs a lot of help, and this is the place for us; this is our Zion.”

Julius replied, “That’s what I want this place to be.” He asked Marcus, “May I approach Matthias? I would like to have a conversation with him.”

“Yes, just remember that Matthias will study you deeply; he is very strong willed and intelligent, and he knows it. Enjoy,” said Marcus.

As Julius walked down to Matthias, he caught the first glimpse of his skills with a sword as he swung all four swords around his body at the end of his routine. Julius stopped and looked with amazement, and then Matthias turned quickly and stared at him.

He said, “Oh, it’s you.”

“Yeah, it’s me, Matthias. I hear you have a lot of talents.”

“Ex eo audientis,” responded Matthias in Latin, which meant “Well, that depends on who’s listening.”

Julius said, “Latin?” Julius looked shocked. “You know Latin?”

“Yes, I can speak eight languages,” replied Matthias.

Julius replied, “You do have a gift.”

“My parents and my uncle think so.”

“You do, Matthias.”

Matthias replied, “I know what I have in front of me right now and what I have learned. Other than that, I’m in the moment.”

“I can understand that, Matthias. What do you believe for yourself?”

“I know I’m alive, and as long as I’m alive, I won’t stop walking the path God has set before me, even if it costs me my life.”

Julius was surprised and said, “That is very wise, Matthias.”

Matthias said, “From your perspective. From mine, it just makes sense.”

Julius asked, “Where does that path lead, Matthias?”

“I don’t exactly know, but I feel it leads to being more powerful than all in the world. I saw a vision.”

“What was this vision?”

“It was a figure that I know now as Satan. He was trying to scare me and intimidate me.”

Julius was starting to feel terrified. “How did you feel?”

Matthias replied, “I felt scared at first. Then I felt for a moment more powerful than him and stared into his fiery eyes and said, ‘I will not fear you; I will fight you to my death,’ and at that moment, the war began.”

Julius’s eyes were dry because he hadn’t blinked. “What war?”

Matthias smirked and said, “You believe this was all an accident, Julius? This was a planned attack. This is the end of days; this isn’t Zion yet. They are coming.”


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page